Dinner.

M is out to see a film with a friend. I went to the new corner restaurant to have dinner. The restaurant on the corner had been shady for the longest time, not a place that one wanted to go to. But very recently, people fixed it up really beautifully, in a way that almost makes it suspicious – in this town, the good restaurants never look fancy, never feel new and clean and fresh. They always need to have patina. But this place, an Italian restaurant, has very friendly staff, the food is good, the pizzas are enormous, and I am starting to like it. To combat my cold, I ordered the soup of the day – a potato cream soup – and a rocket salad. And I read the first pages of “This Is Your Brain on Music” by Daniel Levitin. I found a very inspiring passage in the first chapter that draws a parallel between scientific work and an artist’s work:

“My good friend and colleague William Forde Thompson (a music cognition scientist and composer at the University of Toronto) adds that the work of both scientists and artists involves similar stages of development: a creative and exploratory ‘brainstorming’ stage, followed by testing and refining stages that typically involve the application of set procedures, but are often informed by additional creative problem-solving. Artists’ studios and scientists’ laboratories share similarities as well, […]. The work of artists and scientists is ultimately the pursuit of truth, but members in both camps understand that truth in its very nature is contextual and changeable, dependent on point of view, and that today’s truths become tomorrow’s disproven hypotheses or forgotten objets d’art.”

I find that really interesting. I am drawn to both science and music, as a practitioner, but as one that is more dabbling than really diving in deeply. And I always wonder if I should not be more involved with both of these pursuits of truth.

About The Outer Rim

I am trying to remember my life. By posting about it. Starting January first 2011.
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

