Bigger plans.

Yesterday, our CEO Tone and I had a four hour meeting with our most important client. We had been planning to discuss a few important subjects about developing our business in 2011, but they had bigger plans and launched into a discussion about European expansion and working together on a much larger level. Amazing prospects. But also a little bit daunting, at least for me. The question is also how that relates to the plans we have for the company ourselves.

To me, it was also fairly exhausting because I am simply still not well, not back to normal yet, and the train ride and then this highly charged meeting really did require energy. Afterwards, we travelled on by train. It was good to have a little time to talk, about our long meeting on Monday, and about the meeting we had today with that client. Finally, Tone decided to have a Curry Wurst for dinner on the train, I joined him. Very good idea.

I had my next appointment in the same town where he lives, I went to one of the hotels by the airport there, where I was scheduled to give a speech at a sales conference the next day, i.e. today. Last night, there was a set-up check, and I still had to finish my charts for the presentation the next day, and have them integrate them into their deck for the whole day. I tried to go to sleep around 11, so I’d get enough rest, to keep fighting that virus …

This morning, I got up at 7, because I had some work to get out of the way before I went down to the conference level for a last check at 9. I was speaking at an event where the company wanted to kick off the new year for their sales team, with a massive stage and show thing going on. Between 9:30 and 11, I did some more work in my hotel room, and I bought some cough drops, to keep myself from coughing during my speech.

The event itself was pretty remarkable – a bit of a parody, with business people psyching each other up, telling themselves how awesome they all are. A fairly well-known TV moderator was doing the MC. My part fit in well – I’d never spoken to a sales organisation, so I had worked a bit more on my charts than usual. But I got very nice feedback afterwards.

After one quick meeting and a bite of lunch, I left the hotel, took the sky train to the train station at the airport and was on my way home. The train was super-packed, but I got a seat. I didn’t do much work, I was too exhausted. Upon returning home, I stopped at my habitual pizza place, where I hadn’t been in a while. And now I am vegging out in front of the TV.

About The Outer Rim

I am trying to remember my life. By posting about it. Starting January first 2011.
This entry was posted in Health, Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

