Inspiration.

I had a week now with lots of time to think. As I was sitting at home, consuming pop culture products and tea, there was a lot of time to seek inspiration. And so I kept thinking about artistic expression – which form of it to use, in order to deal with my own creativity, which I cannot really use in my job. The idea to really write, to have a go at a novel, is one that I have been carrying around with me for quite a while now. I now made a plan for that. I decided on a specific date on which I will quit my current job. By that time, I want to also have a first draft of a novel done.

But I also thought about film. I have been dabbling with little film projects for a number of years now. They have always been about filming the surroundings where I was, on trips etc., and then using that footage to cut it to music, and produce some sort of music video / mood film. But that can only go so far … I realized that I have to start telling stories, otherwise the medium is going to get boring and repetitive for me. And as I was thinking about this, I came upon another old idea, much older than the one about the novel: animation films. As I used to love to draw, I have always had a secret yearning to animate drawings. As I thought about it, I realized that I now have the means at my disposal – a scanner, a powerful computer, the software Photoshop and Final Cut Express – that it takes to actually create animation. I started a couple of days ago, as I started feeling better and no longer wanted to watch yet another DVD. And I am absolutely enjoying it! It’s amazing – it seems like all my interests and hobbies are coming together: drawing, music, sounds, animation, film, imagination. It is so much fun! I have been searching for a long time to find something again that I would enjoy as much as I did drawing in my childhood. Something that would keep me busy and happy for hours on end. I think I may have found it with this animation project. This latest outcome is turning this week of being ill and stuck at home into a real blessing!

I am now off to a course where I am supposed to learn about how to make great coffee. I got this idea through someone I know via Twitter, and since I am feeling much better now, getting out into the world for three hours and seeing people, doing something new, seems like a very good idea. Healthwise, I think I am pretty much back to normal. Finally. An occasional cough here and there, but that’s it. There is just one thing that annoys me, I have this weird pressing feeling in my lower right gut. It may be because I have been resting so much and must get exercise sometime soon. But if that doesn’t change it, I’ll have to go back to the Doctor about it.

M is on a yoga retreat today. She signed her contract for the new apartment yesterday.

About The Outer Rim

I am trying to remember my life. By posting about it. Starting January first 2011.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Health, Life, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

