American V.

I’m sitting here with my cup of coffee, listening to Johnny Cash’s American V. I picket it up at the train station last week, along with Bob Dylan’s Blonde on Blonde. It’s a good way to start a Saturday – listening to heartfelt music, and thinking back about the week.

On Thursday night, after I’d come back from a very long day in Hamburg, I met with my former boss, from my agency days. She now also lives here and heads a big agency, her family is supposed to follow soon. We had dinner, most of which I spent explaining my views on the future of media … Sometimes I get carried away and feel like I’m preaching too much. But she didn’t seem to mind. M left for a New York week yesterday morning. I spent the day working from home, and met a colleague from the business school for lunch. Last night, I met with my old music & high school friend Cay. We used to have a guitar duo, but now we mostly just meet every now and then, hang out and catch up. He has a family, so that’s what keeps him busy when he’s not working. He told me how he now has to organize treasure hunts every time one of the two children has their birthday, because apparently that’s what children expect these days, every birthday has to have one of those.

I’ll travel to my hometown today. My mother has her 75th birthday, and I’ll be a surprise guest. I was originally planning to spend all day today with work on my animation project. But then I realized that I had forgotten this was her birthday, so I changed plans. I probably won’t be able to do much for the animation project this weekend, because tomorrow, I’ll need to work and catch up with everything that I left sitting in the past week.

About The Outer Rim

I am trying to remember my life. By posting about it. Starting January first 2011.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Job, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

