Birthday Week.

Last Tuesday, I spent an offline day at our cottage again. It was very nice, once again, and very productive. The difference, this time around, was that my parents were there, too. They were spending their summer vacation there. I wasn’t sure if it was a good idea to try and work there at the same time, but it worked out very well. And it was nice to spend some time with them.

We got along brilliantly, until very late on Tuesday evening, my father all of a sudden started to talk to me about “when I would let him have a daugther.” At first, I didn’t know what he meant. But it quickly turned out that he was talking about a daughter-in-law. It really upset me, and we had a fairly long and loud argument. This is the one thing that I cannot have from my parents, that they put that pressure on me. It’s my most important source of pain and unhappiness, and particularly so as it relates to them, and to the fact that they still don’t have grandchildren. It turned out that my father wasn’t really talking about grandchildren. He is more concerned that I may end up alone when I get older. Again, that’s not something I want to discuss with them, or even want them to think about. It was a long discussion that we had, but finally we made up. Still, I hate having arguments with them, and particularly arguments like this.

On Thursday was my birthday. I took the day off, slept in, had lunch with Kal, went to a bookstore and did some browsing, and finally went to the theatre to see Harry Potter 7.2. Drew has his birthday on the same day (as does Barack Obama), and he celebrated his birthday last night. I went and spent quite some time talking with a friend of his who runs a little record company in Berlin. That was interesting and rather nice.

On Sunday, I hope to be able to speak with Valerie on Skype. Back in Argentina, she had told me about a film that she really loves. I finally watched it this past week – twice! – and then, on Wednesday night, I wrote her a long email about what I thought. It’s a remarkable film, fairly confusing, but also very interesting, intriguing. It’s a sort of sad and strange love story. And it gives you plenty to think about regarding relationships etc. I realized after sending my email that it was maybe a little much, and a little long for her to answer. I found her on Skype yesterday, she wrote that she wanted to answer my email but hadn’t found the time yet. I then suggested that we have a call on the weekend. Which we might.

About The Outer Rim

I am trying to remember my life. By posting about it. Starting January first 2011.
This entry was posted in Family, Film, Life, Relationship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

