Long-Distance Electric Driving, Health Scare, Depression, New Perspectives.

A week ago, I returned from my first Tesla week. I did over 2,000 km with it in the first week, and really had fun. I had to do one unexpected night stay-over because recharging didn’t go as fast as I had hoped it would, but everything was really fun. I am extremely enjoying driving around without burning gas. So cool.

I’ve been through another little health scare. My loins and balls were hurting and even though I’d been to the doctor about this, and he couldn’t really find anything, it kind of went and then came back, and really bothered me. Nana kept telling me that she thought it was all just psychological. I thought she was right, but it didn’t always feel like it. I kept thinking I should go back to the doctor, but then every morning when I had planned to, I just felt there wasn’t enough to warrant that. This weekend now, it turns out that it doesn’t really seem to be there anymore, and so the theory seems confirmed. I went swimming again this morning, before going to the office, to catch up with a few things. I really love being in the city by myself in the morning, then swimming, and then feeling like I have accomplished stuff before everyone else is even getting up on a Sunday.

Nana herself has been having troubles. It seems she is suffering of depression. Which is horrible for her, and puzzling for me. I know how depression was a burden on my parents’ marriage and lives, and I wonder what this will mean for me/us. But I am also convinced that therapy will help her, which she is starting next week. There are some very unresolved issues with her father (who came to visit last weekend, too), and I feel like there is some stuff she does need to sort out.

Interestingly, my friend Susanna is providing me with new perspectives, professionally. On the one hand, she might be buying a fairly big project from us, for her current employer. I think it would fit really well, we could do a great collaboration. Secondly, she may actually be interested in taking over my current job here at our company, when I want to focus on other things next year. That would be really funny, if that was to work out.

Also, after years of frustration and also boredom, I am currently working on something here at the company that is actually a lot of fun: a new approach to our work entirely based on a mobile phone app. I am more interested in this than in many things I’ve been involved with in the past years, and it’s something I may continue to work on also next year. I’m currently trying to figure out how the next year will work for me, and this is a factor to consider.

Now I’ll go back home, and later in the afternoon someone will come who’ll buy my old car. I’ve been driving it for a decade now. It will be a little sad to see it go. But I’ve gone electric. And it would be absurd to have two cars.

About The Outer Rim

I am trying to remember my life. By posting about it. Starting January first 2011.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Health, Job, Relationship, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.